Breeds and diseases researched

Breeds studied

Australian Shepherd, Belgian Shepherd, Border Collie, Border Terrier, Boxer, Cairn terrier,  Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, Daschund, Bordeaux Dogue, English Cocker and English Springer Spaniels, Doberman, Norwegian and Swedish Elkhound, German Shepherd, Giant Schnauzer, Great Dane, Great Swiss, Greyhound, Golden Retriever,  Hovawart, Ibizan hound, Irish Wolfhound, Labrador Retriever, Newfoundland, Polish Lowland Sheepdog, Poodles, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Rottweiler, Samoyed, Schnauzer, Scottish Terrier, Tibetan Terrier and West Highlands Terrier.

Diseases studied

Mammary tumors:
English Springer spaniel, Cocker Spaniels, German Shepherds, Boxers
Contact:  Sweden, Uppsala University, Patricio Riviera: Patricio.Rivera@kv.slu.se

Melanoma :
Schnauzers, Poodles, Scottish Terriers, Golden retrievers and Labrador retrievers
Contact: France, Centre National de Recherche Scientifique-Rennes,Catherine André: catherine.andre@univ-rennes1.fr

Soft Tissue Sarcoma:
Golden retriever, Rottweilers
Contacts: The Netherlands: Gerard Rutteman, Utrecht University: g.rutteman@vet.uu.nl

Diabetes (metabolic disease):
Labradors, Polish Lowland Sheepdog, Elkhounds + Border collies, Samoyed, Cairn terrier, Tibetan terrier
Contact: Sweden, Uppsala University, Tove Fall: tove.fall@kv.slu.se

Atopic dermatitis (eczema-skin disease):
Labrador Retrievers, Golden Retrievers.
Contact: Switzerland, University of Bern, Tosso Leeb: tosso.leeb@itz.unibe.ch

Hypothyroïd disease:
Giant Schnauzer, Hovawart, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Dobermann and Boxers
Contact: Sweden, Swedish Agricultural University: Katarina Sundberg: Katarina.Sundberg@hgen.slu.se
United Kingdom, University of Manchester, Lorna Kennedy: Lorna.Kennedy@manchester.ac.uk

Resistance or sensibility to Leishmaniosis:
Boxers, German shepherds, Ibizan hounds.
Contact: Spain, University of Barcelona, Javiez Quilez: Javier.Quilez@uab.cat

Dilated cardiomyopathy:
Newfoundland, Doberman, Irish Wolfhound, Great Danes
Contacts: France, Antagene, Anne Thomas: anthomas@antagene.com
Sweden: Swedish Agricultural University, Jens Häggstrom: Jens.Haggstrom@kv.slu.se

Myxomatous mitral valve disease (heart disease):

Cavalier King Charles Spaniels
Contact: Denmark, University of Copenhagen, Merete Fredholm: Merete.Fredholm@ihh.kvl.dk

Cardio-vascular physiologic parameters:
Labrador, German Shepherd, Belgian Shepherd, Doberman, Daschund, Newfoundland
Belgium, University of Liège, Anne-Christine Merveille: acmerveille@ulg.ac.be
Denmark, University of Copenhagen, Louise Mejer Sørensen: lul@life.ku.dk
France, Ecole Vétérinaire de Maison-Alfort, Vassiliki Gouni: vassiliki_g@yahoo.com
Finland, University of Helsinki, Maria Wiberg: Maria.Wiberg@helsinki.fi
Sweden, Swedish Agricultural University, Katja Höglund: Katja.Hoglund@afb.slu.se

Epilepsy in numerous breeds:

Contact: Finland, University of Helsinki, Hannes Lohi: lohi@mappi.helsinki.fi

Aggressive behaviour:
English Cocker Spaniels, English Springer Spaniels
Contact: Norway, University of Oslo, Frode Lingaas: Frode.Lingaas@veths.no

Meningoencephalitis in Greyhound:
Contact: Ireland, University College of Dublin, Sean Callanan: sean.callanan@ucd.ie

Exocrine pancreas insufficiency (metabolic disease) in German Shepherd
Keratitis punctata (eye disease) in Daschund
Contact: Denmark, University of Copenhagen, Merete Fredholm: Merete.Fredholm@ihh.kvl.dk

Copper-associated disease (metabolic disease) in Labrador retriever and Doberman
Extra-hepatic porto systemic shunt in Cairn Terrier
Contact: Netherlands, Utrecht University, Jan Rothuizen: j.rothuizen@vet.uu.nl

Idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis
(respiratory disease) in West Highlands terrier and other terriers
Contact: Belgium, University of Liège, : Cécile Clercx: cclercx@ulg.ac.be

Glomerulopathy (kidney disease) in Dogue de Bordeaux
Contact: Belgium, University of Liège, : Dominique Peeters: dpeeters@ulg.ac.be

Naso-digital Keratosis (skin disease) in Dogue de Bordeaux
Contact: France,  Centre National de Recherche Scientifique-Rennes, Catherine André: catherine.andre@univ-rennes1.fr

For an update on recent discoveries on dog genetics: see the news…